Which Linux?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by blix9, Jan 19, 2003.

1. blix9

blix9 New Member

I am a total newbie for Unix/Linux environment. I am supposed to get familiar with it as I take this computer science class. I wish to have a hard drive dedicated to Unix OS and learn this thing in depth from the beginning.
    Somebody please give me wise advise about which Linux distribution I should get.

Thanks.

2. ToshiroOC

ToshiroOC Unbiased.

I would personally suggest getting Red Hat Linux - I am currently using it, and while other distributions may have lots of other highlights and all, from slackware/debian's great customizibility (read: difficult) to Mandrake's easy beginner's Linux (read: bankrupt), I think that Red Hat is simply the best one out there for total newbies. That isn't to say that there isn't a very steep learning curve (there is, and I'm still struggling with it), but it is lessened a bit, especially during Red Hat installation. If you want a book to explain Red Hat too, I would recommend Red Hat Linux <insert version here> Bible, by Christoper Negus. It's pretty useful for easing the transition from Windows to Linux...

3. UberLord

UberLord A Legend in Underwear

RedHat is good. Mandrake may be easier but it's more klunky when you want to start tinkering internally

4. radTube

radTube just keepin' it cool

They're both 'klunky' as hell, but you can always move on to a real linux distro later when you get the hang of it :p. If you really want to learn linux, there are distros that are much better suited for the job (Gentoo is my weapon of choice), but RH or MDK will get you started.

5. UberLord

UberLord A Legend in Underwear

Right tool for the right job. Learning linux shouldn't require broadband, a fast PC and compiling programs which is a requirement for Gentoo. Very nicely put together distro though - but deffo not for the newbie.

6. radTube

radTube just keepin' it cool