Why is it so confusing !! ?? !!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by aneng, Jun 1, 2004.

  1. thomasabarnes

    thomasabarnes Long Time ***** Friend

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Kuja:

    What do you mean k2lt doesnt work? Youre probably making one of the mistakes I made. Exactly what is your DSP setup, and what are you hooking up that makes you say it doesnt work?

    Sincerely, thomasabarnes
     
  2. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    double click kl2t to see what outputs are matched to which connectors on the module
     
  3. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The k1lt and k2lt plugins may not (yet) be compatible with newer (your) type of cards.
    If it doesn't work, use Epilog instead.

    /LeMury
     
  4. BenoitSvB

    BenoitSvB New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sticky

    This thread deserves a sticky: LeMury's remarks uncovered the beautifull simplicity of working with the DSP.
     
  5. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    perhpas he has the epilog AND the k2lt loaded, in that case the epilog will take preference and k2lt will be useless
     
  6. Toadly_Ossum

    Toadly_Ossum New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks LeMury,

    I had been on the verge of having my understanding DSP lock into place and your explaination has cause it to "gel". If it seems complicated at 1st thats because it so powerful. Some of the discusion about 5358 has been about making some small improvements about resizing the DSP applets, connectors, window and other small tweaks. But the power of the 10k1/10k2 could not have been accessed in a simpler way.

    Toad
     
  7. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    LeMury and DJ_Stick don't you guys ever talked on msn or a messenger for crying out loud :D
     
  8. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>If it seems complicated at 1st thats because it so powerful.

    That is correct.
    There is nothing wrong with kX's User Interface as it is.
    Every atempt to make it realy "simpler" would result in loss of flexabilty.
    That doesn't mean we will stop trying to make things more intuitive.
    Eugene already has made some fine GUI enhancements but kX's basic concept remains the same.

    Granted, kX learning curve can be steep.
    So yes;... a good explanation/tutorial is much better then 'dumbing down' kX.

    /LeMury
     
  9. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>LeMury and DJ_Stick don't you guys ever talked on msn or a messenger for crying out loud

    God forbid..:)
     
  10. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    well i do have MSN messenger… PM me if you want to talk
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2004
  11. Way2Loud

    Way2Loud New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Swedish translation of LeMury DSP-guide

    Hi everyone and especially LeMury



    I have taken the liberty to translate LeMurys guide to DSP to swedish (my own native language)

    The main reason is that reading this guide myself a year ago had saved me a lot of time and effort.

    Possibly this is the wrong thread and time to do this, but I hope the translation makes it easier for the kX-users (musicians) in Sweden to use kX and make som gooood music.

    Please let me know if you want me to remove this post or upload it someplace else. Thanks again, LeMury.
    /W2L

    Here it comes............


    Nybörjar- guide om kX's DSP-koncept eller "Hur man konfigurerar sitt eget DSP-fönster" (för musiker)
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Kapitel 1. Grunderna

    Introduktion:
    ---------
    Att hålla sig till default "DSP, xrouter, kX Mixer" kombinationen passar "vanliga" användare av ljudkortet som spelar dataspel och lyssnar på ljudfiler/CD.

    Musiker behöver ej ladda "xrouting" plugin och då blir "kX Mixer's Recording Tab" onödig.
    Detta är inte bara en nackdel, för man jobbar då endast i DSP-fönstret och behöver ej röra '"kX Mixern".
    Nästan allt i "kX Mixern" kan också skötas i DSP-fönstret.

    Man skall komma ihåg;
    "Allt ljud passerar genom DSP-fönstret förr eller senare..."

    Därför är det viktigt att förstå, lära sig använda och konfigurera DSP-fönstret för att kunna utnyttja kraften i kX- drivrutinen.


    I/O Plugins:
    -------------
    Ok, först tittar vi på alla olika signaler som går in till och ut från ljudkortet/PC:n och hur de hänger ihop med DSP-fönstret.

    1.Externa ingångar;
    - analoga AC97 signaler som Mic, Line-In, Aux etc.
    - analoga (till digitala) I2S signaler om du har en Live Drive
    - digitala signaler som SPDIF
    Dessa signaler kommer från "fysiska" ingångar på ljudkortet.

    T.ex. om man vill spela in från Line-In.

    Signalerna kommer man åt i DSP-fönstret genom att ladda [Prolog] eller [Src].

    2.Interna "in-signaler";
    -Wave/PCM avspelning
    -MIDI Synth avspelning
    -ASIO avspelning
    -AC3 avspelning
    Dessa signaler kommer från (skapas i) datorn, t.ex. om du spelar av från sequenserprogrammet eller mediaspelaren etc.
    Signalerna kommer man åt i DSP-fönstret genom att ladda [FXBus] eller [Src].
    (Anm: Vilken signal som tilldelas vilket FXBus nr. bestäms i 'kX Router'-fönstret)

    3.Externa utgångar;
    -analog bak linje ut
    -analog front line ut
    -analog center/lfe
    -hörtelefon ut
    -SPDIF ut
    -digital front, bak, center och lfe ut
    Dessa signaler kommer från "fysiska" utgångar på ljudkortet.

    Signalerna kommer man åt i DSP-fönstret genom att ladda [Epilog] eller [k1lt/k2lt].

    4.Interna "inspelnings-utgångar";
    -WINMM inspelnings-ingång
    -ASIO inspelnings-ingångar
    Detta är "utgångar" som datorn använder sig av för att spela in signaler från DSP-fönstret.
    Du kan "aktivera" de här utgångarna genom att ladda [Epilog] eller [k1lt/k2lt + Asio]

    (Anm: Benämningarna "ingångar" och "utgångar" kan vara förvirrande, men det hänger ihop med från vilken ända av ljudkedjan man tittar på "porten")



    Ovannämnda DSP-plugins kallas "I/O Plugins" och är hörnstenarna i kX's DSP-koncept.

    Sammanfattnigsvis;
    -[Prolog] - (1) Externa fysiska ingångar
    -[FXBus] - (2) Interna "insignaler"
    -[Epilog] - (3) Externa fysiska utgångar + (4) Interna "inspelnings-utgångar"

    ProFX motsvarigheter;
    -[Src] - ersätter både (1)Prolog och (2)FXBus
    -[k1lt] - ersätter (3) fysiska utgångar och (4)WINMM inspelnings-ingång i [Epilog]
    -[Asio] - ersätter (4)ASIO inspelnings-ingångar i [Epilog]

    Om man förstår punkterna 1 t.o.m 4 och att and that "Allt ljud passerar genom DSP-fönstret..."
    skall man kunna göra följande;
    - hitta alla utgångar
    - hitta alla ingångar
    - koppla alla signaler dit man vill
    - processa valfri signal genom DSP-effect(er)
    - spela in valfri signal på valfritt sätt
    - höra (monitor) valfri signal på valfritt sätt

    (fortsättning följer..?)

    /LeMury



    (translated to swedish by Way2Loud)
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2004
  12. Macodun

    Macodun New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LeMury, thank you. Despite reading and re-reading help files, getting started guide, etc., your posts are finally starting to help me understand what the hell is going on! lol

    But, one other problem I'm having;

    Rewire.

    I have two rewire clientsl Rebirth and Fruity Loops, and two Rewire hosts, Cubase VST and n-track, but whenever I try to use rewire, I get terrible howl round. for example, Fruity's o/p is sent to cubase, then back to fruity, then back to.......etc.

    Where does the rewire signal appear in the DSP window?

    Mac
     
  13. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Way2Loud,
    Good job on the swedish translation!

    Macodun,
    >>Where does the rewire signal appear in the DSP window?

    First, I have only treid/use REWIRE once, so I'm not an expert on the subject.
    But to my knowledge Rewire is an 'audio stream protocol' between Applications.
    So there is no 'Rewire audio stream' going into the EMU10kx DSP at all!
    For example; When using Reason as a 'sound module' in Cubase, Reason
    will stream it's audio directly to the host (Cubase),
    and the host (cubase) will mix/vst/output the final audio stream via ASIO into the EMU10kx DSP.

    /LeMury
     
  14. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Way2Loud please don't used black with black typing hard to read lol
     
  15. Way2Loud

    Way2Loud New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry McClelland, didn't notice the color myself. I've edited my post, hope i'ts alright now. Thanks for your remark.

    Greetings/ W2L
     
  16. Tiger M

    Tiger M kX user

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LeMury, since many people find this post useful, why don't you make it a html and put it on the knowledgebase?
     
  17. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>LeMury, since many people find this post useful, why don't you make it a html
    >>and put it on the knowledgebase?

    Yep, seems you are right.
    Actualy I'm in the procces of finishing this tutorial.
    Adding pics and stuff. If it's done I'll ask RIVANVX or DJ to html it.

    /LeMury
     
  18. Tiger M

    Tiger M kX user

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    perfect!
     
  19. Macodun

    Macodun New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks LeMury, I wondered if it was something like that with rewire.

    In fact, it was that problem that caused me to try out Kx in the first place.

    None of the faders in the creative mixer affected the level at all, and it was only by selecting "what U hear" that I was able to record the rewire stream. Trouble is, "what I hear" is also the delayed stream coming out of Cubase too!

    Anyway, I look forward to your completed tutorial, (and Tiger's example DSP window set-ups).

    Thank you,

    Mac.
     
  20. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>and it was only by selecting "what U hear" that I was able to record the
    >>rewire stream.
    To my knowledge you can "record" a Rewire stream directly in your host (cubase) just as with a VSTi using the 'Mixdown' function.

    If you want to run the Rewire audio stream through kX's DSP effects
    this is done through the host's ASIO outputs and inputs, just as with VSTi's.

    >> Trouble is, "what I hear" is also the delayed stream coming out
    Weird. kX's ASIO Latency is ~5ms on an mainstream PC.
    Bear in mind that Rewire technology puts more load on your cpu then VST(i)
    technology.

    Eitherway;
    Rewire should work properly with kX.

    /LeMury
    PS:
    If i have some time left I'll try Reason demo + cubase SX
    in rewire mode.
     

Share This Page

visited