Windows 10

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by Trusteft, Oct 1, 2014.

  1. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,283
    Likes Received:
    2,170
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I just have a "This PC" shortcut on the desktop.
     
    Trusteft likes this.
  2. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,690
    Likes Received:
    2,711
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Yeah but I don't take shortcuts in life. I am a rebel like that.
     
    Calliers and Dyre Straits like this.
  3. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,027
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I don't have icons on my desktop at all.

    I often hit the windows key + E if i need to open explorer.. .which in default windows 10, shows quickaccess primarily
     
  4. QB71

    QB71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    53
    I too have ZERO icons on my desktop... I just pin File Explorer to the taskbar. I like the MRU lists that pop up when you right-click that pinned icon... And those folders can then be pinned to the taskbar list or removed as needed.

    QB
     
  5. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,726
    Likes Received:
    979
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I use objecty dock for some frequently used icons its set to autohide and only appear if I mouseover that part of the screen

    On my second screen I have a few folder but my main screen is clean
     
  6. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Wait, you mean to tell me that there's a desktop under all my icons? Holy S**T!
     
    Mr Cairo, IvanV, Trusteft and 2 others like this.
  7. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,690
    Likes Received:
    2,711
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I noticed my "new" PC keeps waking up from sleep over the night.

    This is what I found wakes it up. Any idea what is actually going on?

     
  8. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,726
    Likes Received:
    979
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Dont know why its happening but cant you stop that in the power plan, I seem to remember an option to disable wake times in there somewhere under sleep

    Googled that UpdateOrchestrator\Universal Orchestrator Start bit and found this thread ... seems to be tied to Windows Update

    https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us...ly-every/12b32ace-fb6b-4ab9-9aa4-3f03446a5a94
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2020
  9. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,690
    Likes Received:
    2,711
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Windows update can be paused and still do it.
    Well, this is a new one. Tonight I woke up and found the PC not only awaken but also from the looks of it, rebooted.
     
  10. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,726
    Likes Received:
    979
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I often get that with cumulative updates if I don't manually reboot, at night it will reboot itself
     
    Dyre Straits likes this.
  11. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,690
    Likes Received:
    2,711
    Trophy Points:
    153
    You have no idea how much I hate all the big brother features of W10 and MS.

    Now since I had several windows opened, I lost all of them and that just annoys the hell out of me.
    I will just have to not use the sleep function any more.
     
  12. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,863
    Likes Received:
    2,094
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Just a reminder, if WU doing its thing the way MS now wants it annoys you, go to Group Policy and follow these instructions:
    • Computer Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Windows Update
    • Double-click the Configure Automatic Updates policy on the right side.
    • Check the Disabled option to turn off the policy.
    Also, once you're there, to disable automatic driver updates through WU, do the following:
    • Computer Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Windows Update
    • On the right side, double-click the Do not include drivers with Windows Update policy.
    • Select the Enabled option.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2020
    Trusteft likes this.
  13. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,690
    Likes Received:
    2,711
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Is it possible in Windows Explorer to have a thumbnail of a media file (video or image file) shown on the left side under the tree, as soon as you click on the file in detail view mode?
     
  14. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,027
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Click View, and turn on preview pane... this will open a preview on the right hand side.

    For left, i'm not aware of an option
     
    Calliers, IvanV and Trusteft like this.
  15. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,690
    Likes Received:
    2,711
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I guess that will have to do. Thank you.
     
    Calliers likes this.
  16. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,690
    Likes Received:
    2,711
    Trophy Points:
    153
    ok this is weird. A couple of days ago I changed my desktop wallpaper. Everything was fine. Yesterday (technically today) I updated Windows and restarted and just noticed the wallpaper changed to the one I had before. I clicked on Personalize and under the pictures options where it shows a few thumbnails of recent wallpapers, it shows the current (former) and right next to it the one that should be the current wallpaper, but isn't. Could windows update be responsible for this?
     
  17. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Yep. I had this exact issue pop up after one of the big version updates. Only on one machine though, my gaming rig in which my user folders are redirected to a 2nd drive (my large mechanical drive). Hasn't happened on any other machine I use.
     
    Trusteft likes this.

Share This Page

visited