Windows 11 Leaked...maybe

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by Dyre Straits, Jun 16, 2021.

  1. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,550
    Likes Received:
    2,492
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Mr Cairo and Trusteft like this.
  2. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,717
    Likes Received:
    3,490
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I hope there are no new compatibility issues .
    It looks ok, though trying too much to look like macOS.
     
    arb65912 likes this.
  3. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,274
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    138
    First thing for me will be to find a way to put the menu back on the left ..other than that it looks barely any different
     
    arb65912 and Trusteft like this.
  4. arb65912

    arb65912 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Is that just another update for nothing so people will buy new Windows?
     
    Mr Cairo likes this.
  5. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,621
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Trophy Points:
    138
    coincidentally, if i recall right, windows longhorn had the centralized taskbar and radial start menu as one of several UI options they were demonstrating.
     
  6. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,717
    Likes Received:
    3,490
    Trophy Points:
    153
    [​IMG]

    Why? The Learn More has zero explanation what is the problem.
    i7 5960X 64GB RAM, GTX 1660 Super.
     
    Mr Cairo likes this.
  7. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,274
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    138
    From what I am reading its a free update if you have a legit current win 10 licence
     
    arb65912 likes this.
  8. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,274
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Processor I cant help with but the other problem is probably the TPM 2.0, easily resolved go into the BIOS and enable TPM 2.0 ,,,mine was hidden under advanced
     
    Trusteft likes this.
  9. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,717
    Likes Received:
    3,490
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Mine doesn't have such option. There is a connector to connect a TPM device, which obviously I don't have.
    The CPU does not support TPM. Apparently the extreme edition wasn't extreme edition enough even though theoretically intel supported haswell CPUs with TPM, but you can find it only on some low powered portable i3 and i5.
    Frankly I don't know what I am going to do.
    First of all I wasn't planning on installing Windows 11 for at least a year, no matter what.
    Second, if even on the Pro version Windows 11 requires MS account to install Windows 11, then fuck this shit. At least for now.
    Third, even if the second is not accurate, if I have to have TPM 2.0 on this system, then obviously I won't get Windows 11.
    I don't plan on getting a new system anyway (no money) and this system thankfully is powerful enough to keep working for years to come.
    Hopefully.
     
  10. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,274
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Pretty sure that workarounds will appear very quickly considering how many PCs are in the same boat as you

    Reading more about it though TPM has only become the norm in new PCs in the last couple of years so that millions that probably dont have it they have really reduced their client base by doing this the average Jo will not upgrade just to get win 11

    Having to have an MS account though that I am not to happy about but I will compromise on it.
     
  11. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    11,234
    Likes Received:
    2,524
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Yeah, Intel deliberately removed support for TXT (Trusted Execution Technology, which uses TPM) on K series processors up to the Series 8. Buttholes. I don't think that my motherboard has a header for one, though, so it's a moot point for me. There's word that the TPM limitation is easily bypassable by substituting a dll file that the setup program uses with the version from Windows 10.
     
    Mr Cairo likes this.
  12. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,621
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Trophy Points:
    138
    there will be command line parameters or simply solutions to bypass such a requirement. For the most part i've disabled TPM for most systems simply because it afforded no useful function for literally everyone i setup, and having run the windows 11 check, even disabled it passed.
     
    Mr Cairo likes this.
  13. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,274
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Trophy Points:
    138
    So what happens with a BIOS update after a win 11 install, most updates tend to reset or require a reset to BIOS default settings, by default my PC has TPM disabled so after a BIOS update will I have a pc that wont Boot until its enabled.

    Lots of the modern prebuilts have apps now that update the BIOS through windows as part of the OS maintenance check, if a regular user does this then reboots is he is going to be left staring at a screen telling him that Win 11 will not boot in its current state
     
  14. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,717
    Likes Received:
    3,490
    Trophy Points:
    153
  15. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    11,234
    Likes Received:
    2,524
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Interesting!

    I wasn't too worried about the possibility of not being able to do upgrade to Win 11 on my desktop, but it's certainly good to know. I wonder if MS doesn't decide to plug this little loophole.

    BTW, as far as MS's official stance is concerned, this is the situation:

    upload_2021-7-2_19-59-5.png

    The work laptop, of course, has everything green, although, again, I'm not sure if I'll upgrade it.
     
  16. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,717
    Likes Received:
    3,490
    Trophy Points:
    153
    What it shows is it is simply a matter of working with the hardware vendors to steal from the public. Forcing computer upgrades when there is no real reason.
    They are thieves.
    My guess, MS, Intel, AMD. All of them together on it.
     
  17. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    11,234
    Likes Received:
    2,524
    Trophy Points:
    138
    It's quite possible, although, with the current global chip shortage, I wouldn't think they would need to do it. But, corporate logic, I guess. I mean, if using any feature that requires TPM is completely optional, why enforce it as a requirement?!
     
    Trusteft likes this.
  18. grog

    grog Roxy Music

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Think I am good for Windows 11...

    upload_2021-7-3_0-43-51.png
     
  19. arb65912

    arb65912 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Sorry to be so ignorant but will it be mandatory and if, when?
     
  20. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,717
    Likes Received:
    3,490
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I don't think so.
    Of course when support for Windows 10 runs out (2025 I think) then you would be better off to upgrade. I am already thinking which linux distro to download.
     
    arb65912 likes this.

Share This Page

visited