windows 7 freezing

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by FuNsTeR, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. FuNsTeR

    FuNsTeR Caledonian and Proud

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    58
    currently running windows 7 64 bit i believe it is a technical issue since upgrading after winning the asus P8Z77 V Deluxe board yes i did a clean install it is just freezing every 3 - 4 hours really starting to annoy me ... i've just about tried every setting in the bios and still my PC freezes

    starting to wish i never won it in the first place :mad:
     
  2. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Is there any overclocking in the system? If yes then go to stock values and see if that solves the issue.
     
  3. FuNsTeR

    FuNsTeR Caledonian and Proud

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    58

    no i am not over clocking my hardware everything is at stock speeds
     
  4. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,115
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    Trophy Points:
    138
    memtest 86+ ..... 24 hour run..

    are you using the SATA III port along with the SATA III cable for your hardrive? ... if so.. change it (your hd shows sata II)

    there is always the possibility of a bad board too.

    go grab CPUID Hardware Monitor and check what your temps/voltages are.... it might not be a bad idea to post a screenshot of what it shows here.

    But before you do.... maybe run it for a solid hour doing your usual various tasks and then print screen it and upload.
     
  5. FuNsTeR

    FuNsTeR Caledonian and Proud

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    58

    i haven't updated everything i am running a 120 gig OCZ agility 3 SSD and a 2 gig sata 3 western digital caviar drive
     
  6. FuNsTeR

    FuNsTeR Caledonian and Proud

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    58
    ok here is the screenshot ... btw i d/l and flashed the latest bios update for the board after my last freeze earlier today ... hasn't crashed yet

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,115
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    Trophy Points:
    138
    the only thing out of place is the 12v rail value which is 6.97... however i know this is reporting incorrectly as i've an asus board reporting the exact same value.

    otherwise that looks Excellent

    Report back and see.

    otherwise i still would recommend a thorough memtest 86+ 8 hour minimum. .24 hour recommend burn in.
     
  8. FuNsTeR

    FuNsTeR Caledonian and Proud

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    58
    still crashing ... on my first boot up off the day i recieve a cpu fan warning and tells me to go into setup ... i know the fan is setup properly ... it is a artic freezer pro rev 2 ... as you can see my cpu temps are well within the limits ... it is totally frustrating

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,557
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I think you would be pretty safe ignoring that CPU Fan error message, my ASUS board does the same. It should give you an F1 to continue message, boots into Windows, then I just do a "RESTART" and no message from there on out.

    Have you done a Memtest yet? And what speed are you running the RAM at and what kind of RAM is it? (brand, speed, etc. ) I'm not sure how updated your specs are so I didn't even look)

    Also, is the firmware on that SSD up to date? (If there's any updates)
     
  10. FuNsTeR

    FuNsTeR Caledonian and Proud

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    58

    what is the best software to d/l for memory test ... using G-Skills RipJaws 1600 mhz my ssd firmware is up to date as is my mobo
     
  11. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,115
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    Trophy Points:
    138
    best is memtest86+

    version 4.20 is the latest i beleive.

    http://www.memtest.org/

    download the ISO... burn it, then boot from it... let it chew
     
  12. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,557
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Trophy Points:
    138
    ^^^ What he said ^^^
     
  13. FuNsTeR

    FuNsTeR Caledonian and Proud

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    58
    cheers guys i will give it a run tomorrow ... it is to late to do it now ... i'll run it while i'm at work :D
     
  14. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Detective question: Freezing/crashing, what happens more specifically?
     
  15. FuNsTeR

    FuNsTeR Caledonian and Proud

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    58

    it just freezes mouse pointer freezes can't open anything even using the keyboard options


    btw tested memory for 9 hours no problems found ... i'm going to try removing more hardeware ... i already took out one of my sapphire hd6850 TE card's to see if hardware is the problem
     
  16. FuNsTeR

    FuNsTeR Caledonian and Proud

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    58
    been doing a bit of research i flashed my mobo to the latest bios as the board was unstable ... the problem might be that i need to do a fresh instal of windows 7 to get a stable install and hopefully the freezing stops .... the other alternative is to flog my intel chip and switch back to a amd system ... because i can't be arsed with the system freezes
     
  17. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    1,077
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Are there any errors listed in Event Viewer under Windows Logs | System or Applications?
     
  18. FuNsTeR

    FuNsTeR Caledonian and Proud

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    58

    that post should have said both system and applications
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2012
  19. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,325
    Likes Received:
    2,238
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Actually, I believe the places you need to look are:

    Event Viewer/Windows Logs/Application

    and

    Event Viewer/Windows Logs/System

    Then, under Applications and Services Logs check under each sub-heading.
     
  20. FuNsTeR

    FuNsTeR Caledonian and Proud

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    58
    ok problem solved after flashing my motherboard to the latest firmware i should have done a clean install of windows 7 .... done it early this morning and no crashes or freezing even disabled asus cpu fan control in the bios ... no more cpu fan errors ... it's amazing throwing a hissy fit can do for you :D
     

Share This Page

visited