WMV codec reinstall?

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by BiGBrOwNPimpsta, Aug 3, 2005.

  1. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    for some reason all WMV files get screwed when playing in wmp10. they play but once i try to foward them or something the player crashes. only in wmp10, media player classic is fine. is there anyway to remove all my codecs installed and reinstall them. i use the k-lite codec pack also i dont know if that is known to have issues
     
  2. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
  3. md5

    md5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
  5. md5

    md5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't need to remove the old codec. Just close Media Player and Internet Explorer and install this codec pack
     
  6. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    well i did that, still the files have problems playing. it was fine a few weeks ago i dont know what could of set it off? maybe after installing doom 3 but that should have no effect. it cant seek foward or back in WMV files, wmp crashes. maybe it is a problem with wmp. i reinstalled it no luck, but the reg keys were not deleted any way to do an absolute clean install of WMP easily instead of me manually deleting WMP keys from the reg?
     
  7. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    you useing the latest codec pack?
     
  8. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    im pretty sure got it about 3 weeks ago didnt hear about any releases...
     
  9. md5

    md5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got a similar weird problem with some WMV files for some reason. Not sure why only some WMV files have problems, though. I use VideoLAN with such files, which uses its own codecs (and they work all the time :) ):
    http://www.videolan.org/
     
  10. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    that defeats the purpose of my solution lol, i want to use WMP to play WMV and all my stuff. i dont really enjoy other players except media player classic for quicktime and real (god i hate them both).

    and i want my srs/wow settings and album info it kicks ass
     
  11. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    also i found out something new, everytime i play a WMV file in WMP, a dxva_sig.txt file appears on my desktop simply with the letter "b" in it....

    never happened before
     
  12. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try reinstalling direct X, or if you have the K-Lite Codec pack, or anything like that, uninstall it and see if that helps
     
  13. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    well i did some research.... funny thing this occurs on WMP10 and ati radeon users. lot of people online are having this problem there is a fix but the site is down.

    i tried installing codec 75 which is said to resolve the problem, but it does nothing.
     
  14. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    reinstall direct X...and look for the option to disable DXVA in the control panel..i'll hunt down the registry key for you tonight....but it's an issue with DirectX Accelleration not workin right.
     
  15. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK....can't find the exact key as no machines here at work have ATi cards :p

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE -> SYSTEM -> CurrentControlSet -> Control ->Video. You will need to hunt through the keys until you find your current ATI video card. Then the key to change is called DXVA_WMV = 1"

    change that key to 0, and see if that fixes your problem...if it does...try a different(older) driver set, like the 5.6
     
  16. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    ill give that a try right now, thx prodigal
     
  17. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I have some weird issues with some WMV files- they skip forward sometimes and then catch up with themselves. Happens in WMP and MPC both but not with all WMV files. I installed K-lite codec pack a month or so ago and it fixed it a little bit.. Updated it once since then I think.

    It first happened when I installed Windows media encoder and Windows media connect. It isn't as bad as your problem, but it can be annoying sometimes.


    DXVA_WMV = 1 <--- mine already was 0
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2005
  18. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    and this stupid genuine windows shit pisses me off i hate it!
     
  19. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    i can't find the key dude... nothing in my reg with that

    edit- i found it and it didnt work damn it!
     
  20. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    IE6 - tools- manage add ons - show add-ons that have been used.....
    Windows Genuine Advantage- switch to disabled.
     

Share This Page

visited