X-fi Xtreme Music big problem

Discussion in 'PAX Download - PCIe X-Fi Series' started by fireb, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. fireb

    fireb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what I have done:
    - audigy4 soft and drivers uninstalled and cleaned the PC with driver cleaner.
    - shut down the PC.
    - removed the audigy4.
    - start; entering in bios and checked is the onboard soun is off.
    - booting in windows and make sure that there is no sound card installed at all and cleaned once again with driver cleaner (creative; realtek and kx drivers).
    - shut down and installed the X-fi xtreme music.
    - boot and installed the driver and software from the original CD;
    - restart
    - playback with winamp; aimp2 and 3; media player classic and other software after proper setup; sound test in the creative software, THX console etc. and from windows too (win7). NO sound at all but the volume meter in every case was moved and bounced ok (in the console too; checked in the music production mode).
    - checked with the creative diagnostic tool and everything!! was ok but the testing was without sound.
    - with the Pax drivers was no difference.
    - not checked with KX drivers and I am not sure 100% if I had checked or not the digital output only but I do not think that this option is selected from default after an clean install.

    What can I do?
    there is any chance to "remove" this problem;
    I can not return the card because was bought second hand from some internet market place.

    Le: checked on 2 different PC's one with Xp and the other with Win7
    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2011
  2. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    254
    Trophy Points:
    108
    You have to formated the xfi card in your computer after you using audigy card. I had do same thing with my new T champ card after I had xfi card in this computer.
     
  3. fireb

    fireb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Solved. very easy.
    There was in the creative audio control panel on the headphone setting MUTE SPEAKERS AUTOMATICALLY checked by default. Big error from Creative because an newbie with the soft automatically will say that the card is busted. I jumped 10 times over that thing ..... :)
    and just unchecked only by luck.
     
  4. Smeagle

    Smeagle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This only mutes the speakers if a Headphone is plugged in!?
     
  5. fireb

    fireb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this mutes everything ... and does not care if there is an headphone or not....

    ....No headphone was plugged in, just the card in the "pci" and after that the drivers were installed just in the right way... :)
    after that I connected the sound system and nothing happend
    and the problem was from that little "MUTE SPEAKERS AUTOMATICALLY" ...
    i spoke with someone with an identical card and he had the same problem ....
    So I must believe that this "thing" is checked by default from factory...

    and yes I plugged an headphone too for 2 maybe 3 minutes at my work in the green plug and the headphone was really quiet... :) the same problem - no sound...
    but I am happy because the problem was solved.
     
  6. Smeagle

    Smeagle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, it's checked by default.

    But it should ONLY mute the speakers, if headphones are connected.

    Maybe the headphone-connector is broken?
     
  7. fireb

    fireb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    who cares if the headphone connector is broken; I don't use headphones... :) only trough some monitors...very hard to reach the back of the PC.
    but I will check with headphones too; the line out (stereo or surround works perfectly) and the line in too ...
    I am curious now. :)
     

Share This Page

visited