x64 - 3547 - bugs and issues

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by Eugene Gavrilov, Jul 18, 2009.

  1. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
    please report any x64-related issues with build 3547 here

    if your problem requires discussion or detailed explanation, please start a separate topic and post a link with a brief description here

    previous bug report thread is here

    E.
     
  2. fronde

    fronde New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if it's a driver bug or not, but I have the same issue like the previous version.
    I have a PC with Audigy2 (sb0240) and 4 gb ram installed, my OS is Win7 x64.
    First the sound is OK but after a few minutes everything goes wrong and just weird clicks or no sound coming from the speakers.
    If I put out one of the 2 gb ram sticks, everything is working just fine all time. Back with the 4 gb of ram leads to the same bad sound again.

    Is it possible to fix it or is this Creative's mistake?
     
  3. Temragon

    Temragon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    The issues with more than 2gb of ram on 7 x64 are ongoing issues. Unfortunately, no solution has presented itself yet- We're all hoping Eugene gets time to work on it soon.
     
  4. woodendaze

    woodendaze New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is the "more than 2 gb"-bug specific to a certain motherboard, soundcard and/or certain DIMM's? I have 4 gb of memory (4x1 gb DIMM's) and I don't have these issues neither using the 3545 x86 nor the 3547 x64 drivers. Have tried using Win XP x86 SP3 and Vista x64 SP2. My soundcard is an SB Live Value CT4780.
     
  5. LyyNx

    LyyNx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    might be slightly offtopic, but.. have people that are having problems with 4gb and vista/win7 tried official creative drivers? do they work fine? i'm planning on going win7 x64 and i saw creative released new drivers for audigy2 at least on 07/13 ( same date as the supposed win7 rtm )
     
  6. Galleon

    Galleon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just installed my audigy platinum eX, using Win7 x64 OS, 4GB Kingston RAM, Asus P5Q, Q9550 and downloaded the kxdrv3547-x64-full.exe - after I restart I get a "error while initialising the sound card, please re-install the driver..." message. I'm going to test the creative drivers now ;)
     
  7. MegaByte

    MegaByte New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First of all, I own a Soundblaster Live! 5.1

    The mixer bugs in XP 64 seem to have been fixed indeed, and the sound is so crystal clear! It's just like awesome like never before.

    I can't control bass and treble though. Will you add support for them in the future?
     
  8. Temragon

    Temragon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    It seems to only be on 7 x64. I have 8GB and both have worked fine for me on vista and xp.
     
  9. woodendaze

    woodendaze New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've found a bug not previously reported: Soundfonts don't work. As soon as I load a soundfont and try to play a midi-file through the midiOut kX Synth CT4780 10k1 device, all I get is noise.

    Tried a couple of different soundfonts and its always the same error.
     
  10. MegaByte

    MegaByte New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Because of Utorrent's new policy with the Ask Toolbar which fucked my previous Windows x64 install (I ghosted it and managed to restore it and get it cleaned up in the end), I installed Vista and the same drivers in its x64 version. I would like to point out that sound is not nearly as good in Vista x64. Why? Is this a bug?
     
  11. MegaByte

    MegaByte New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd also like to point out that in XP 64 Pro, when surround is turned on, sometimes the soundcard will play highly distorted, sounding with a "metallic" pitch.
     
  12. thomasabarnes

    thomasabarnes Long Time ***** Friend

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I reckon this is because of the below except taken from the .3546/.3547 changelog:

    "SFMan32.dll is not installed for x64 platforms, because it is not 100%-compatible with 64-bit OS"

    Maybe someone will write a program for kX that is something like SONAR's bitbridge or the newly released jbridge (programs that make it possible for 32bit apps to be run in native 64bit software).
     
  13. RPGWiZaRD

    RPGWiZaRD New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You need to run kxmixer.exe in Vista compability mode for now (right click on exe file and troubleshoot compability).

    I can control bass just fine, are u trying with the 10-band EQ or Timbre dsp plugin? Both works just fine for me.
     
  14. MegaByte

    MegaByte New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  15. MegaByte

    MegaByte New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is something that I still would like to know: why does my Live! 5.1 sound so much better on XP than Vista? On Windows Vista it sounds much flatter.

    Thanks in advance for anyone that can explain this to me.
     
  16. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Îòâåò: Re: x64 - 3547 - bugs and issues

    check your DSP configuration - is it almost the same?
    try Wave 2/3 instead of Master Mixer
    ensure Vista is set to 48000Hz mode for all the devices
    --
    SoundFonts: anyone with 10k2 to confirm this?
    (this is unrelated to sfman32.dll)
    --
    >2Gb: no solution still

    E.
     
  17. MegaByte

    MegaByte New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do I set the mode to 48000 Hz?
     
  18. LyyNx

    LyyNx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in vista, go to control panel, sound ( or right click the volume icon in sys tray and select 'playback devices') then select the current playback device and press 'properties' and go to the 'advanced' tab. probably should do it for other devices as well, not just the default one
     
  19. thomasabarnes

    thomasabarnes Long Time ***** Friend

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Re: Îòâåò: Re: x64 - 3547 - bugs and issues

    Ah I see, now. Thanks for pointing this out. Dear Eugene.:D
     
  20. MegaByte

    MegaByte New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    The playback rate is already set to 48 Hz, and can not be changed.
     

Share This Page

visited