X800 Pro Issues?

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by mike83wvu, May 25, 2004.

  1. mike83wvu

    mike83wvu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pulling my hair out over some random reboots that started about 1 week after getting this card. I can at times play a game for 1 hour before it will crash. I just ran prime last night for about 12 hours with no errors then today random crashes, random reboots. Had this same rig for 6 months so I know all the limits of the cpu , ram ect.

    I have swaped out the ram, identical motherboard, hard drive, cpu & problem remains. I do not have another video card or power supply to test at the moment.

    My biggest concern is the card. If the card was bad or I pushed it too far overclocking { used ATI TOOL to test the limits } would I be able to stay at the desktop or play a game for 20 minutes before I crashed which I have been able to do? Cannot ever recall symptons of a power supply going bad but could this be the problem. Thought the issue may be ATI Tool but that does not seem to be the culprit either. Lowered fsb , dropped down to cpu rated speed with no luck.

    Anyone with a X800 had any noteworthy issues? Thanks for any input.



    A7N8X Deluxe Rev 2.0 Bios 1007
    Mobile 2500 @ 2507{11.5x218} 1.825 Core 2.8 DDR
    Muskin 3200 Black 2x256mb 11-3-3-2.5
    Raptor 74gb & Maxtor 120gb
    ATI RADEON X800 PRO {6444}
    Antec 480 True
    Thermalright SP-97 Mechatronics Fan 38C/44C
    Thermaltake 2000A Case
    Samsung 16x dvd
    Plextor DVD 708
    XP Pro
     
  2. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Just return the card to its standard clocks and see if it helps. If it does then you know what it's about. If that doesn't help then try lowering the overclocking on the CPU as well.
     
  3. Jalle64

    Jalle64 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe you should try Omegas latest! just a thought! Don´t forget to uninstall catalyst controlpanel first!:)
     
  4. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what have you tried as far as fastwrites and VPU recover go?
     
  5. mike83wvu

    mike83wvu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Fast writes alway off , VPU both ways & still no luck.
     
  6. Alistair

    Alistair Spoos

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    may sound odd but check your IDE cables... I was having crashes all the time a whlie back when doing anything 3d related... turned out I had an IDE cable that had been pinched in my case which caused problems... I had replaced my video card and power supply before finding out the cable was the problem.
     
  7. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    PSU?

    What was the card you used before? Perhaps your PSU is acting up and causing these crashes. Prime95 wouldn't detect these because the video card isn't being used.
     
  8. mike83wvu

    mike83wvu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like it was the PSU, fine all day since I put the new one in.

    Thanks for the input.
     
  9. nuG

    nuG is having a sexy party

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah happened to me when i installed my 9700 pro. turns out the power supply just couldnt handle everything. so i had to unplug my cold cathode and one of my fan in order to play games without it randomly crashing.
     

Share This Page

visited