XFX denies 64-bit Radeon HD 5970 video card users

Discussion in 'Submit News' started by Optix, Dec 4, 2009.

  1. Optix

    Optix Slave To Technology

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [ 11/27/2009 7:11:49 AM] Registered my card, downloaded the overvolt tool, installed, .exe will only run under administrator, but it says "Sorry this tool does not support your video card" WTF $1200 video card and your software doesn't work?

    [JEDY 11/27/2009 11:42:03 AM] Hi, thanks for your message,it is strange. could you tell us what bios version your card? thanks Jedy

    [ 11/27/2009 11:46:25 AM] How can I tell that, would GPU-Z show that info? I have 2 more cards here from the same batch but they are for my customers, I hope they don`t have the same grief that I have had.

    [JEDY 11/27/2009 11:52:53 AM] Hi,Thanks for the update.you can find the bios information from CCC. thanks Jedy

    [ 11/30/2009 8:50:33 AM] Sorry for not replying over the weekend, we had other machines on the test bench, Bios Version 012.013.000.002 Bios Part Number 113-HD58-970-102 Bios Date 2009/11/11

    [ 12/2/2009 7:29:12 AM] Its been a few days since I replied, any update on this?

    [JEDY 12/3/2009 9:17:09 AM] Hi,Thanks for the update. this software can`t run under 64bit OS. thanks Jedy

    [ 12/3/2009 10:11:32 AM] Why didnt you tell me this back in November, as if any power user would use 32bit OS these days. is the program from ATI written in 16bit, thats very old-school. Au$1200 Epic fail...

    Tweak Town
     
  2. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,694
    Likes Received:
    1,540
    Trophy Points:
    138
    o_O

    wat
     
  3. SeraphicSorcerer

    SeraphicSorcerer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  4. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    some manufacturers lock out bioses to specific tools. Sapphires tool requires a specific bios entry for instance so it only works on their cards.

    I haven't really looked into this XFX issue, but its on Tweaktown, not a big fan. ill check with XFX next week.
     
  5. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,694
    Likes Received:
    1,540
    Trophy Points:
    138
    So we'll see an influx of people trying to flash their 5970's bios (some of which will likely fail) and who knows what other cards to.
     
  6. SeraphicSorcerer

    SeraphicSorcerer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Thanks Zardon, because I've been trying to figure out which 5970 I'll be going with for my birthday, XFX or Sapphire, and it seems I may want to go sapphire, I would have thought the mainstream tool would work on all cards. but I guess manufacturer's can force procedure calls for their own tools, Right?


    So it looks like you have to pay $80 to even get the Tweaking tool, with the black edition, otherwise the products are exactly the same. I don't see that as being okay in my book.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  7. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,694
    Likes Received:
    1,540
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Overlocking is one thing... overvolting is right into the black area imo.


    we are lucky enough that we have the tools supplied by officials for overclocking, i'm surprised as hell that we get overvolting capabilities.. specially with the amount of heat these suckers spit
     
  8. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    I will be absolutely honest- I would not overvolt the 5970. I have been using several for a month now, they really do run quite hot and its just asking for trouble long term. I know AMD will deny it, but they denied issues with the 4870 X2 as well when we approached them after that release. Look how that ended up.
     
  9. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,694
    Likes Received:
    1,540
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Yeah, the DH/AMD supplied Asus EAH4870x2 runs DAMN cool, pulling high 70's low 80's under full load while overclocked, and idles around the 35-45 mark.

    While i've seen first hand (when quading up) with a standard 4870x2 or other flavours where the suckers hit the 105*C mark even with good case cooling and low abient temperatures.

    That's WAY to hot for my tastes, i NEVER want to see a video card hit 90*C ever....

    Personally i think the higher 80's is to warm.

    I know GPUS get hot, but damn.

    The thought of overvolting to get more clocks, pushing the limits above the current values is insane to me.
     
  10. SeraphicSorcerer

    SeraphicSorcerer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I can see your points, but it's nice to have if only temporary. Anyhow I guess my biggest complaint is you need to pay 80 dollars more for a card that does what everyone else does. And with a tool ATI freely provided. and then they say it doesnt run on w7-64 bit thats my problem with it.

    But yeah I wouldn't overvolt it much unless you have an awesome cooler.
     

Share This Page

visited