XPS2 6800 Go Ultra Performance Issue

Discussion in 'NVIDIA Graphics Cards' started by vindication, May 3, 2006.

1. vindication

vindication New Member

Hi everyone,

This is my first post, and I'm not very tech savvy so I apologize if I don't make any sense.

Anyway, I'm coming to my wits end with an issue I have been having with my video card recently.

Before I get into it, here is my system:

Dell XPS Gen 2 Laptop
    nVidia 6800 Go Ultra
    2 Gigs of RAM
    7200 RPM, 60 GB HD
    2.26 GHz Intel Pentium M Processor

About a month or two ago, after having had the computer for about 4 months, I realized that I was due for a video driver update. So, I searched around and found The Extreme-G MobileForce Drivers and downloaded one of them (the latest one at the time, unfortunately I don't remember which one this one) and experienced an incredible boost in performance in the game I most often play, World of Warcraft.

I was able to finally completely max the games graphics settings and simultaneously experienced an increased framerate that averaged around 60-70 fps. I finally felt like I was getting my money's worth out of the machine. Everything ran silky smooth for about a month, when for no reason at all my game began to see incredible drops in the framerate in outdoor areas and heavily populated areas. My framerate could be 80 inside and drop to 14 outdoors or in flight. It made no sense, as it had been fine for a whole month.