Xtreme Music loosing sound in games

Discussion in 'PAX Download - PCI X-Fi Series' started by myconcern, Jun 28, 2014.

  1. myconcern

    myconcern New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
  2. myconcern

    myconcern New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I managed to delete driver completely, installed older, same problem.
    What hardware issue can it be, and how to fix it?
     
  3. Jac

    Jac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,513
    Likes Received:
    162
    Trophy Points:
    73
    If the hardware is faulty I doubt there would be a way to fix it. If you have re-installed the OS and drivers then I can't see how it can be a software issue. It could still be something else causing it, something else in the system with a fault.

    At this point options are trying the card in someone else's system. Trying another card in yours. If you can finallly narrow it down to the card itself then there is probably a loose component or dry circuit. You can pick up an xtremeMusic on eBay for about £10 nowadays. That's how much I sold mine for.
     
  4. myconcern

    myconcern New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I don't get how it works perfectly everywhere else, except games.

    I hear a pop, like it turns it self off, and extremely quiet sound.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2014
  5. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    And also look for bad caps on the sound card if there bad cap you need new sound card then. Also check out for bad caps on mobo too.
     
  6. deton24

    deton24 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I said you to reinstall to x86/32 bits if you can. Genuine key will still match. Remember about ram limit, you can pass that by fix.
    I had the same when I played movies. Change from 5.1 to 4.1/2.1 was solution. That's why i helping you ;)
     
  7. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Ya maybe he does has 4 gig of ram on 32bit lol he needs updated pc really badly.
     
  8. myconcern

    myconcern New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Have 64-bit with 8GB, and I had my card working on this system, so it's probably caps, which I should be able to change.
     
  9. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    There always issue with 32bit with 4gigs on pci cards.
     
  10. deton24

    deton24 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I had 2gigs x64 when I had my problems, yes, x86 was fine.
    Maybe with 4 GB x86 (after fix for ram limit) will otherwise work better if we got dead end after changing caps.
     
  11. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    You got have 4gig for 64bit and 8gig for gaming.
     
  12. myconcern

    myconcern New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I think the problem is overheating, and thats why it goes down in games, because heat inside the case goes up.
    I'm currently testing, and I think I solved it.
     
  13. deton24

    deton24 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Share with us if problem disapeared after cooling, or if it's only your hypothesis
     
  14. myconcern

    myconcern New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    It does, it's overheating, that causes it to shut down.
    I turned a fan to blow on it, and it works perfectly in games.
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2014
  15. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,745
    Likes Received:
    1,390
    Trophy Points:
    123
    BTW, which Xtreme Music do you have? The more expensive one that has a black PCB, 2 RAM chips, gold connectors, and a heatsink on the processing chip, or the cheaper "blue" PCB version that doesn't?
     
  16. myconcern

    myconcern New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Golden, with heat-sink on DSP
     

Share This Page

visited